Nov 20th, 2014, 6:15 pm

TITLE: Moon Called (Mercy Thompson #1)
AUTHOR: Patricia Briggs
GENRE: Urban Fantasy
PUBLISHED: 01/01/2006
RATING: ★★
PURCHASE LINKS: Amazon
MOBILISM LINK: Mobilism

Review: I read Moon Called for the first time when I was about fourteen or fifteen years old, and I was an instant addict. I read books one through six as they were released and loved them all.

Book six, River Marked, was published in 2011. Which happened to be the year I graduated high school, took off for Finland, and got married (within the same month). Suffice to say, I lost track of the series –– I bought the new books as they came out, because I was a loyal fan, but I never read them. This year, having completed my Goodreads challenge (BOO-YAH!) I decided to revisit Mercy and her world.

I am disappointed to say that it has not aged well.

For those of you who are somehow unaware of this series, a short summary: Mercedes 'Mercy' Thompson is a skinwalker, capable of transforming into a coyote at will. She is also a car mechanic (who has heard every permutation of that joke you're considering) who took over her garage from a gremlin, lives next door to a werewolf alpha, and regularly works on the car of Stefan the vampire.

(Not, we are pleased to note, Stefan of The Vampire Diaries, although he shares book!VD-Stefan's Italian heritage).

Mercy's world is almost identical to her own, except that the 'lesser fae' - that is, those members of faerie who are not too powerful or too frightening for humans to deal with - are out of the closet. All the other supernatural beasties are still on the downlow.