If it does not belong anywhere else and has to do with iPad post it here.
Feb 21st, 2012, 6:29 am
I just bought my iPad 2 today. So I am very very new at this! Also, am new to Apple... Anyway... to my question.

I have a boatload of books on my Kindle and I have no idea how to transfer them to my iPad. I have been using Calibre to transfer books from my computer to my Kindle (ie. books I have gotten from *here* - obviously not ones bought from Amazon) and I assumed I could do the same thing for the iPad but Calibre isn't recognizing it.

I've tried turning on the iPad. Then opening the Kindle app. But nothing. Calibre just won't recognize it and thus I can't drag any books into the iPad.

Or... is there another e-reader (free, please!) app that I should download instead of the Kindle app to read the books instead?

Or... must I give up the hope of reading the books I've gotten from here on my iPad??? :(

Any and all help is greatly appreciated! Thank you!!!
Feb 21st, 2012, 6:29 am
Feb 21st, 2012, 6:30 am
Sorry -- forgot to mention in my original post that I don't have any plans to jailbreak it. At least, not at this point.
Feb 21st, 2012, 6:30 am
Feb 21st, 2012, 5:55 pm
After a bit of playing around and downloading iTunes to my computer (I didn't have it on my PC), I have managed to transfer the books. So please ignore this whole thread. Sorry!

For future reference to anyone who doesn't know how to do it, open iTunes on your computer. Make sure your iPad is synced to itunes on your computer. Go to File, then Add File to Library. Find the file you want and click Choose (on my laptop, that option is "Open"). Once it shows up in the Library, then click "Sync to ___" (whatever your iPad is named - ie. "Pinklily's iPad").
Feb 21st, 2012, 5:55 pm
Jun 17th, 2012, 5:57 pm
There's a Kindle App for iPad. It will download any books you've bought from Amazon. For other books use Dropbox. A great app.
Jun 17th, 2012, 5:57 pm
Aug 4th, 2012, 9:55 pm